The Culture of Love?

Why did heartbreak hurt me so?

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about love and relationships. I am not sure I should say “lately,” because in a way, I’ve always thought about these issues a lot, even as a child. Yet, I have never been the kind of person who hops from relationship to relationship or contrives to make people fall for me.

When I was a teen, I always found myself “feeling in love” though, and of course, I never loved people I could actually be with. I have “loved” one of my professors, and the best-looking boy in high school and a few men who were older than me. I remember asking my mother why I could not have a boyfriend or a girlfriend as the other kids at school did. Her answer was quite simple, but I think she was right and only formulated a truth I already knew but did not want to see. She said: “That’s because you’re not in love with anyone. What you love is the idea of love.”

It was easier then to be in love with love than to actually try and be in a real relationship. There would be no rejection and no pain. I could create all these beautiful stories inside my head, and no one could ever take them away from me because I was in control. But then, one day, I really did fall in love, with a girl. And it hurt. I fell in love again, with another girl. And it hurt more. And then again – and on the moment I felt my heart crack open and shatter that time, I thought I would die. This is not just a frozen, cliché image. My heart was pounding; I had shivers down my spine; I could not eat, could not sleep, could hardly breathe…

Heartbreak.jpg

At that point, my only thought was “Don’t be fooled dear, there is no such thing as LOVE.” So I started reflecting on the idea of love once again. What was it that had made me so dreadfully hurt? What could possibly have caused such intense suffering? I am happy when I am alone. I don’t feel the need to have a lover or to experience these fluttery feelings you get when you first meet someone. I do not crave it. So what was it? Was it my pride that had been wounded? Was it the idea that our culture imposes on us that if you do not have a fulfilled love life you have accomplished virtually nothing, even if you are successful at work and have good friends because our society seems to tell us we must have it all? EVERY SINGLE LITTLE THING? Or was it so painful because even though I did not need my lover, I actually had made a conscious choice to be with her? I just wanted to be with her and share with her?

The pride issue I think I have resolved. Of course, I am not a perfect angel of selflessness and disinterestedness, so yes, my pride must have been hurt a little bit. I guess that is just natural. What really hurt me though was being told that I was perfect and still losing the one person I loved so dearly. How could I be “perfect” and still not enough? How could perfect be discarded so easily and so quickly? It took me back to my own childhood fears, when my mother told me, even as I got straight As, that I could do better. That when I was naturally kind and loving, I was told that my love was not there or was not real. That my kindness and generosity were a social manipulation. That I was only good because I wanted  people to love me because I did not love myself at all. That all this so-called perfection was either fake or still not enough. I felt worthless and started questioning who I was and whether striving to be the best person you could possibly be (because I don’t think I’m perfect. No one is. And I don’t want to be perfect) was actually worth it.

When the rush of emotion had washed away a little, I came to the conclusion that I should not let my pain harden me into becoming a more selfish and nastier person though. Then, I would actually hate myself as I would not be respecting any of my personal beliefs.

So I wondered about the other questions. Yes, society wants us to have it all; and our culture sells us a image of love that is all passion and thrill without pausing to consider what love is. Love seems to have become just another product we want to consume. Of course, that is not how everyone sees it – I personally don’t and many of my friends do not either – but it tends to be presented in that way very often. Just think about all the love quotes on the internet!

And finally, there was the difference between needing and wanting. No, I did not need my lover to be happy. When I met her, I even knew being with her would probably mean problems and drama and hurt because I could feel she was troubled. And I was right. Still, I chose to stay because I loved her and I wanted to be with her, and I was ready to accept her for who she was, with the good and the bad because relationships are not just about the thrill, they’re about building something. One of my friends told me that you do not find the love of your life, you create it. And I think she’s right, so perhaps the grief of heartbreak was only enhanced by the feeling that the safe place I was trying to build for us together with her was being torn apart. It felt like watching my favorite poem or the painting I liked the most burning away. And it reminded me of all the hurt in the world that we cannot control – all the destruction… So I thought to myself: “the world is already so full of weeping, why would anyone want to add to it? Why generate devastation when you can build beauty?”

Hoping.jpg

But perhaps I am too much of an idealist and an optimist… And I know that the heart wants what it wants. It can’t be helped, but still, I’d like to hold on to these ideals.

Sorry about this terribly long post… I hope you enjoy it! Thanks to anyone reading  💙

Have a wonderful day,

Love,

Sacha

16 thoughts on “The Culture of Love?

    • Thank you very much for your kind words. I do hope I can hear the right thing and won’t let myself be confused by what some people strive to make me believe about myself and is not at all aligned with what I feel deep inside. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love is for optimists and idealists. Maybe. I guess it’s futile to say that one should tread the pathways of love with caution because, as you pointed out, the heart wants what it wants. So, go after whatever your heart wants. It’s true that the American culture says you must have it all or you’re not successful. However, I recently came across the book entitled “Culture Code” by Clotaire Rapaille, where the author described the American Culture code for love as that of false expectation, basically because there is a high chance that the feelings of either party are very liable to changing. He went ahead to use the famous Japanese description of love as a “temporary disease”and the high failure rate of American marriages to buttress his points. I do not know if only optimists genuinely fall in love while others are gamers. I do know however that ultimately most people eventually find that one person who is crazy enough to continue to desire and long to put up with their own weirdness.
    Your post is not long or terrible at all. I thoroughly enjoy reading it. It’s sad that you had to go through so much heartache but I am happy that you are able to find some resolve. I love your paintings and I am happy to see that the once heart-broken lover has been transformed to an sweet angel with long hairs as wings.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Is This Love – aYoKa

  3. Pingback: Tough Questions: breathe and find direction | The Colour of Poetry

  4. You never fail to entice me with your words and art. The picture with the girl bleeding from her front because of the arrows to her back is absolutely stunning, I stared at it for the longest time. The colors and everything about it is just perfect and you’re such a talented artist to inspire this much emotion in other people, it’s crazy! Please keep doing you, you’re stellar!

    Basant She
    https://thoughtsofasociallyanxiousextrovert.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

